Laryngopharyngeal Reflux vs. Poutine

ORL

Although I would love to continue eating poutine on a weekly basis, my system can’t take it. I have been diagnosed with “laryngopharyngeal reflux.” In normalspeak, this means I have a problem with gagging, choking, and coughing out my own bile. All this acid rising up to my throat had consequently swollen it to the point where I felt like I had a golf ball lodged in it. Breathing and swallowing were becoming difficult. And then there’s all the nasty stares I’ve been getting on the street as I walked around hacking out my entrails and occasionally throwing up. Although there’s no direct link between eating poutine and this condition, stomach acidity problems are aggravated by greasy food.

So now I’ve been in healing mode for the past two weeks. In addition to acid-reducing drugs, I have given up my half dozen cups of strong sweet tea a day, greasy foods, alcohol, and red meat. I will continue this boring regimen until things get back to normal. Frankly, I’d rather be eating poutine than alfalfa sprouts, but I value my respiratory and digestive systems. After a week of thoroughly unpleasant caffeine withdrawal symptoms, I am no longer feeling like someone on the verge of death. I’ve stopped gagging. It’ll probably be a few months until my throat heals.

Things have slowed down a bit, but they won’t stop. I won’t stick with this extreme diet for life, but I probably won’t want to go back to a weekly poutine. However, I will continue to keep this blog up with the help of friends. I had a quarter poutine earlier this week and will blog on it soon. Stay posted!

4 Comments

Filed under Poutine Academy

4 responses to “Laryngopharyngeal Reflux vs. Poutine

  1. I have had to go through the same withdrawal to get rid of the same reflux problem. Twice. In theory, I should maintain the same strict regimen between attacks, but I’ve decided life is better than health. (Just kidding! Health is better than life, as we have all been taught!)

    Meanwhile, where is the best place to get poutine in Philadelphia?

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever seen curds like that. You wrote (or someone did) that they are the same curds that could be made into cheddar. Do they taste something like cheddar, or like cottage cheese, or what?

  3. Like mild cheddar, only squeaky.

Leave a Reply

