Review: Casse-Croûte Pierrot

Untitled

I went out drinking with friends in Quebec City last weekend. 1AM rolled around and, next thing you know, we all start feeling hungry. “Let’s walk down the hill to Ashton’s,” suggests Olivier. I suggest going somewhere else, since I have already reviewed Ashton’s. Next thing you know, we’re driving down the hill and across the bridge to Limoilou, the city’s up-and-coming slowly-gentrifying urban neighbourhood, and Quebec City’s closest approximation to Montreal neighbourhoods of tree-lined streets, winding stairs and triplexes.

Pierrot is the only 24-hour restaurant in this part of town, and locals swear by its poutine. I’d eaten them several times before and had fond memories, but I’d probably been too drunk to spot what is in fact a dud. In a way I am happy that this fell below some of the poutines I’ve had in Montreal, as I was beginning to fear my objective punditry would eventually be misjudged as gros village poutine chauvinism. No, my friends, there are scientific criteria which I rigidly adhere to when analyzing the poutine in front of me. I am unswayed by any partisan allegiances to a hometown I have willingly moved away from.

My friends must have been more drunk than I was, as they left with nothing but praise for the meal they’d just had.

Poutine Chez Pierrot

Fries: Average. A bit overcooked, in fact. 21/30.

Gravy: Also average. Too salty. 35/50.

Cheese: Average again. Chunks too small and lack of squeak, but okay portions. 14/20.

TOTAL SCORE: 70/100

Verdict: Average.

Hours: 24 hours.

Value: Slightly below average – $6.75.

Location: 109, 10E rue (coin 1ere avenue), Quebec, Quebec.

1 Comment

Filed under 24 Hour Restaurants, Classic Poutine Reviews, Quebec City

One response to “Review: Casse-Croûte Pierrot

  1. I recently moved to this part of Québec city. Being a night owl, I was happy to find out there was a casse-croûte open 24H a day in my new hunting territory. One night, deep growls coming from my stomach warned me it was urgent to be fed.

    So I decided it was time to finally try Casse-croûte Pierrôt and I called to order a large galvaude (poutine with chicken and green peas). First surprise : Since we were 2 people eating from that galvaude, I asked for utensils and an extra plate (paper or styrofoam, whatever they had). The lady told me I have to pay an extra for those (2$ if I remember correctly). Inside my head I said whaaaaaaat ? But because I didn’t want to sound cheap and also I hate doing dishes, I agreed. But really ? 2 bucks for 2 plastic forks and a piece of paper ? Every other places I know will give you those for free.

    Anyway. After a reasonable 30 minutes of waiting, the order arrived.

    Verdict

    Cheese : Good taste, good quantity, starting to melt on the outside but still squeaky inside. 17/20

    Gravy : I agree with you, it was way too salty. Dark colored and strong taste (over cooked or burned maybe). I also found a few big coagulated gravy lumps. 20/50

    Fries : I don’t know when was the last time they changed the cooking oil or even cleaned the deep fryer but I could taste in the fries almost everything they have on the menu that require frying, like fish, chicken and onions. Add to that an unpleasant aftertaste of burned oil. Very disappointing. 1/30

    Since it was not technically a poutine, I’ll be fair and give them 10 extra points for the chicken and the peas. Peas were average, just normal peas you can buy everywhere. But the chicken was real good. Big chunks of perfectly cooked white meat.

    So a total of 48/100 for the galvaude, but only 38/100 if I only consider the “poutine” aspect of the meal.

    Note : Even after this bad experience, I gave them another chance a month or so latter. Sadly, my rating will stay the same.

    I sincerely hope that if one day they read my comment, they will see it as a constructive review, not an attempt to destroy their reputation. After all, they have been in business for more than 40 years and they are well established in the neighborhood. Maybe I was just unlucky. Two times. 😉

Leave a Reply

